Categories Articles

Nicky: Meeting Bertie was terrifying

NICKY admits that he was indimidated when he met his future father-in-law for the first time as a teenager.

And he revealed that his mum had tried to teach him about table settings before the first meeting with the former Taoiseach Bertie Ahern – dad of his wife Georgina.

Continue reading Nicky: Meeting Bertie was terrifying

Categories Articles

Stools Given The Axe

WESTLIFE considered smashing up four bar stools as part of their Farewell Tour to make a joke of their reputation for sitting while singing soppy ballads.

Star Nicky Byrne said he pitched the idea to his three fellow band members Shane Filan, Mark Feehily and Kian Egan but that it was spiked.

The chart-toppers – who sold over 45 million records during their stellar 14 year career – are currently touring the UK and Ireland for the last time before going their separate ways.

But the high energy shows will be a bar stool-free zone.

Nicky said: “I did actually suggest at some point in the show to have stools just as a p*ss-take of the whole thing and maybe blew them up or smash them up and do something crazy with them but it didn’t come off so there are categorically no stools in the show.”

“Part of me comes alive on stage – I love the banter with the crowd, everything is off the cuff and you are reading out filthy banners, getting people on stage and just doing whatever pops into your mind and the fans are just loving it. They are seeing their band come to life – they are not seeing four lads in black suits sitting on stools.”

He added that he understood why critics slatted them for their slow ballads.

“I knew why they criticised us for doing You Raise Me Up or Mandy, but what else can you do, sit on a bar stool or stand at a mike stand?”

“But as people we’re never like that. If we had been of a different era we could have been just as dancey as Take That were. Simon Cowell had a vision for us and it worked for us.”

Thanks to Villy for it.